Finger Painting

Photo courtesy of Mike Licht
As a child did you ever do any finger painting. I used to love it. The end results were never much good (though my mum thought they were brilliant!) but the mess I was allowed to make was great.

Another great artist, David Hockney, has been creating art work, first on his iPhone and then, more recently, on his iPad. Here’s what he said about painting on his iPhone,

“People from the village come up to me and tease me, ‘We hear you’ve started drawing on your telephone.’ And I tell them, ‘Well, no, actually, it’s just occasionally I speak on my sketch pad.’ Who would ever have thought that the telephone would bring back drawing. I like to draw flowers by hand on the iPhone and send them out to friends so that they get fresh flowers. And my flowers last! They never die!” 

What a thought – imagine being sent an original David Hockney on your iPhone! Another  favourite  David Hockney quote is,

“I have got an iPad, what a joy! Van Gogh would have loved it, and he could have written his letters on it as well.”

The following video gives a whole new meaning to the idea of  ‘finger painting’. It is a wonderful example of how the latest technology can be used to create some brilliant art work. This is by an artist called Kyle Lambert, using an iPad.

 
For more great pictures have a look at ‘Orphaned Stories’ by Matthew Watkins or the work of Shaun Mullen
While David Hockney and other creative people are embracing technology, our educational leaders are still debating its place in our schools, still arguing whether or not it promotes learning. While artists use their mobile phones to create works of art, our schools are banning them! Why are we getting it so wrong!

What do you think? Please let us know.

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

3 responses to “Finger Painting”

  1. Steve says :

    I love the blend between the old and the new – I read an interesting article earlier today about the idea that a pencil was "new technology" once – I guess theres a certain amount of truth in that – prior to the pencil everyone painted with their fingers now that we have the iPad in a sense we are returning to our roots.

  2. Mike says :

    Thanks for commenting Steve.Talking about the 'pencil' there was an interesting # on Twitter some months ago where tweets flew in about 'this new technology called the pencil' it was called #pencilchat with some amusing tweets. Check out this video where someone has put the best ones into a slideshow.http://blip.tv/joe-dale/pencilchat-5989901

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Something New – A Different Sort Of Writing | Short Stories - August 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

